Bernezac.com - France, Atlantic Coast, La Rochelle, Rochefort, Royan, Island of Re, Island of Oleron, Charente, Estuary of Gironde - Tourism and Holiday Guide

Visit to the Lighthouse of Cordouan

Home

To see

To do

To know

To taste

Accommodation

Practical information

Site map

Bernezac.com - Visit to the Lighthouse of Cordouan, Estuary of Gironde, France French Atlantic Coast

You are here: Home > To know > Cordouan > visit to the lighthouse of Cordouan

printable version

To see, north to south

The "Marais Poitevin"

La Rochelle

Island of Ré

Island of Aix

Fouras

Rochefort

Madame Island

Island of Oléron

Marennes

Brouage

Ronce-les-Bains

La Tremblade

Mornac-sur-Seudre

La Palmyre

Saint-Palais-sur-Mer

Vaux-sur-Mer

Royan

Saint-Georges-de-
Didonne

Meschers

Talmont

Mortagne-sur-Gironde

Blaye

To do

Cycling

Boat trips

Sailing

Golf

Riding

Jogging

The market

Thalassotherapy

Drives through the vineyards

Drives through the marshes

Drives through the forest

Walks

To know

The Romanesque Art

Rochefort

The Citadel of Brouage

The Citadel of Blaye

The lighthouses

The forest of La Coubre

The marshes

The "Marais Poitevin"

The carrelets

The ostreiculture

Vine and wines

To taste

Wines

Cognac

Pineau

Oysters

Mussels

Sea food

"Terroir" products

The restaurants

Lighthouse of Cordouan

to discover

Visit to the
lighthouse
of Cordouan

Royan

 

 

 

 

Visit to the Lighthouse of Cordouan

The King of Lighthouses, the Lighthouse of Kings

Leaving the jetty, the platform of the circular bastion is reached by going through a postern and up some steps.

On the first floor, one passes through a door which leads to the hallway from which the stairs rise up to the lantern.

At each floor, it is possible to listen to a recorded commentary which makes the visit more enjoyable.

Arriving at the room on the first floor, here is an extract from what the recorded commentary invites us to discover:

"In the four corners of this room, doors lead off to smaller rooms which were used by the guards until 1790.

To the right, on entering, you will notice a door surmounted by a beautiful feminine head, finely sculptured in the stone.

On both sides of the room, you can see two fountains in the form of lions heads and made of bronze.

All the rainwater which streams on to the lighthouse is returned into these fountains and then stored beneath your feet.

This fresh water is vital for the lighthouse keepers who stay day and night in the lighthouse all the year round.

Every lighthouse keeper spends on average, half of the year in the lighthouse and the other half off-duty.

The lighthouse keepers have to tend the light during the night and day and take care of such things as the generators which produce the electricity for the lighthouse.

They are alternately, painters, glaziers, carpenters, masons, electricians, mechanics, and every morning, they send the weather report to the service of the "Phares et Balises" based at Le Verdon-sur-Mer to inform sailors of the weather conditions.

Let's begin now climbing the 311 steps that lead to the top."

Do not be put off by the impressive number of steps. Unlike other lighthouses, where the stairs are endless, narrow and close against the wall, the stairs of Cordouan are of the ornamental style with landings on each floor allowing a break in the climb to the top, giving one time to discover the treasures of the building.

Take time to look out through each window to see the lunar landscape which spreads out below, as far as the eye can see.

1st Floor: the apartments of the King

2nd Floor: the Chapel

3rd Floor: the room of the Girondins

4th and 5th Floors: landings
Between 5th and 6th: The Watch Room

6th Floor: the lantern

The King’s appartment

The idea of the lighthouse serving as a royal place of residence had been taken into account by Louis de Foix when planning the building but in fact, no king ever stayed in the lighthouse of Cordouan.

The room, arched and paved with black and white marble, is decorated with the monogram LMT of Louis XIV and Marie-Thérèse.

In the centre of the room, an opening reminds one curiously that this is a lighthouse.

It is the central well by which the lighthouse keepers once brought up the fuel necessary for the functioning of the lantern.

The chapel of Notre Dame

The chapel is the most impressive room, and the most unusual of the lighthouse.

It is surmounted by a vault with eight richly decorated bays.

Let's resume the text of the comments made on this floor:

"The chapel Notre Dame de Cordouan is the last room dating from the 17th Century. Stained glass windows were produced by the famous glassworker Lobin, in 1855.

He also restored the stained glass windows of Notre-Dame de Paris.

It is interesting to note that the lighthouse of Cordouan was classified a "Monument Historique" in 1862, at the same time as Notre-Dame de Paris.

All around the room, badges framed by clusters of grapes recall the regional coats of arms.

Those surmounted by the royal crown are dedicated to Henry III and Henry IV. The ceiling is coffered, directly cut into the stone and painted.

On March 2nd, 1584, in the presence of the Marshal de Matignon and of Michel de Montaigne, the order of the lighthouse of Cordouan was bestowed on Louis de Foix, engineer-architect whose bust surmounts the front door.

Louis de Foix dedicated all his fortune to the construction of the lighthouse and died in 1602 before seeing it completed.

His son succeeded him but ruined, he passed the task on to the works foreman Beuscher, who finally completed the work in 1611 ; in fact, 27 years after the signing of the contract.

Masses are still celebrated in the lighthouse on special occasions such as religious days or at baptisms or marriages. On leaving, take a look at the impressive fonts.

Next stage, the room of the "Girondins"

The room of the Girondins

"The room of the Girondins", the first room constructed by the raising of the tower under the direction in 1789 of the engineer Teulère.

This extra height of the tower, gained by keeping the three lower levels, doubled the height of the lighthouse and made it more visible to navigators.

To avoid weighing down the foundations, Teulère decided to build a fine stone wall strengthened by a stairway in the form of a vault at the periphery to enforce the rigidity of the tower.

 The conjunction of this stair-vault with the floors at the various upper levels, gives a remarkable appearance in the form of a heart, which can be seen by looking upwards.

In the centre of the vault-ceiling conjunction, a copper plaque commemorates these works.

It is possible to have an idea of the difficulty of the construction work when one realises that most of the stones make up the entire thickness of the tower and are assembled in such a precise fashion that it is impossible to slide the blade of a knife between the joints.

You will also be interested to see all the sculptured pieces of copper hardware which date from 1789.

For any further information, don't hesitate to ask the attendants."

The lantern

As a reward for the ascent, from the platform of the lantern there is a magnificent view over the estuary of the Gironde, the Pointe de Grave and Le Verdon-sur-Mer, the coast of Gironde, Soulac-sur-Mer, L'Amélie-les-Bains, the coast of Charente- Maritime, from Saint-Georges-de-Didonne to the forest of La Coubre.

A bit of history

The lighthouse of Cordouan is the most unique of all the lighthouses. Unique in its isolation, it is built on a rocky island which is revealed at low tide. Unique in its conception, because it was designed for the functions of lighthouse, royal place of residence and church.

Many people tried to characterise it by calling it the Dean of Lighthouses, the Oldest Lighthouse in Europe, Versailles of the Sea, the King of Lighthouses, the Lighthouse of Kings, …In 1862, it was one of the first two French monuments, together with Notre-Dame de Paris, to be classified "Monument Historique".

History tells us that the name of Cordouan, in the Middle Ages, would have been connected to Cordoba, further to the business connections between the Moors of Cordoba and Bordeaux. A first tower would have been built to guide the vessels. Then, the Black Prince ordered a lighthouse to be built. At that time, in 1362, the King of England, Edward III had grouped together all his possessions in the Southwest in the vast Principality of Aquitaine and had entrusted it to his eldest son, the Prince of Wales, called the Black Prince.

Two Centuries later, this 14th century tower was in poor condition and during the reign of Henry III, it was decided to build a new lighthouse.

In 1581, the project was entrusted to the engineer Louis de Foix and the works began in 1584. The project planned a tower with three floors.

In 1593, Henry IV who succeeded Henry III, approved a new project, a room on the ground floor, the appartment on the first floor, the chapel on the top floor.

Two hundred workers were on the construction site. The works were finished in 1611, twenty seven years after they were begun. The building was strengthened and restored during the reign of Louis XIV

In 1788 and 1789, the lighthouse was heightened by the engineer Teulère, which changed it to its present shape. The three upper floors were built in the style of Louis XVI whose sobriety contrasts with the richness of the first floors.

In 1823, the first lens device with a revolving system, developed by A.Fresnel, was first tried out at Cordouan. In the19th Century, the light worked with liquid petroleum gas. In 1950, the lighthouse was electrified thanks to the installation of two generators.

If you wish, you can contact
The Association for the Protection of the Lighthouse of Cordouan
Office of Tourism of Le Verdon-sur-Mer
Rue François Le Breton
33123 Le Verdon-sur-Mer
Phone 05 56 09 61 78

You can also visit
The Museum of the Lighthouse of Cordouan
Situated in the municipality of Le Verdon-sur-Mer, near the Pointe de Grave, the Lighthouse of Grave incorporated for some years the museum of the Lighthouse of Cordouan.

previous page, the lighthouse of Cordouan

 

Ads by Bernezac

Royan

Hotel Foncillon Royan
Overlooking the bay of Royan, 50 meters away from the beach,
ideally located, close to cafés, restaurants, shops, port.

 

Hôtel Atlantis Royan

Hotel Atlantis is a charming hotel next to the main beach of Royan in a quiet area of the town centre.

 

Hotel Les Bleuets Royan

Facing the Foncillon beach, next to the City Congress Center, ideal location on Royan sea side.

Palmyre Loisirs

Hotel La Croisette Royan

In a nice and sunny setting, 200 meters from the beach, "La Croisette" welcomes you all the year.

Hotel Le Pasteur Royan

downtown Royan  in a quiet area very close to the sea, close to the famous Central Market.

Hôtel Le Richelieu

Le Richelieu Hotel in Saujon, 10 minutes away from Royan, 20 air-conditioned rooms,all different.

Camping Les Pins
Campsite at Saint-Palais-sur-Mer, in a charming area.

Ma Maison de Mer
Guest House, B&B, situated in a fantastic location, 150m from the beach and 200m from the town center. Open all year

Hotel Residence de Rohan
Charming house, 3 kms away from Royan in a unique environment. By the sea, direct access to the beach

Yukadi Village Le Logis

Le Logis, under the warm Charente sun, 600 metres from the sea and 10 km from Royan, much of it situated in a pine forest

Camping des Deux Plages
Campsite at Saint-Palais-sur-Mer, close to the beaches and the town centre.

 

Chambres au Château

Luxury "chambres d'hôtes" in a 18thC chateau totally renovated, Ten minutes away from the beaches and from Royan.

Domaine de Berthegille

Guest house, B&B, ideally located in the Romanesque Saintonge area, close to the Atlantic coast.

Le Tileuillé

Guest rooms, B&B, between Saintes and Royan, in Sablonceaux close to the famous 12th Century abbey.

Les Violettes de Malleville

Guest rooms, B&B, between Saintes and Royan among fields, vineyards and woods, in a typical Charentaise house.

Château de Mouillepied
Guest house, in a castle built in the 15th and 18th century, restored keeping in character, between Saintes and Royan, Charente valley.

La Rivière

Guest rooms, B&B, in the heart of  Saintonge Romane, close to Saintes.

Le Haras du Grand Gatérat

In Saintes, Guest house, B&B, in a 17th C house. Four spacious and comfortable guest rooms.

bernezac communication ©

Contact Us - First Time Visitors - Site map - Advertise with Us - Terms and Conditions